What are RAL Colours?

The RAL colour system was pioneered by German engineers back in 1993 to ensure colours stayed consistent throughout Europe. In the past, there was a lot of controversy as to whether colours actually matched up precisely which is why the RAL system was developed and defined as the industries standard.

What does RAL Stand for?

The term ‘RAL’ stands for, ” Reichs-Ausschuß für Lieferbedingungen und Gütesicherung” which loosely translates in English to, ” National Commission for Delivery Terms and Quality Assurance”.

How many Colours does RAL have?

Currently, the RAL colour system contains a total of 1825. When the RAL system originated, it began with just 40 colours; also known as RAL Classic.

A further 1,648 more colours were then introduced totalling 1688 colours and then again, was revised to just 1,625 colours.

What are the Different RAL Colours?

To see the different colours inside the RAL system, please refer to the chart below:

RAL Colour Chart